Linda Brooks Davis

Genre: Historical Fiction

Heart Soul Mind article: Guest Post: The Awakening of Miss Adelaide–and Me

Linda Brooks Davis was born and reared on a farm in Raymondville, a small Rio Grande Valley community in the southernmost tip of Texas. Linda earned a bachelor’s degree in Speech Pathology from Abilene Christian University and a master’s degree from Houston Baptist University. She retired in 2008 after forty years as a special educator and administrator. Linda and her beloved husband Al worship and minister at Oak Hills Church in San Antonio and dote on six grandchildren, three of whom are triplets. Readers may contact Linda through her website,

Linda’s debut novel, best-selling The Calling of Ella McFarland (Book 1 in The Women of Rock Creek series), is set in 1905 Indian Territory prior to Oklahoma statehood. It won the 2014 Jerry Jenkins Operation First Novel Award and subsequently won the ACFW Carol Award for Debut Novel 2016. The sequel novella, A Christmas to Remember, is set in 1908 Oklahoma and released in December 2016. A second novella, A Christmas Measure of Love, is set in 1910. It released in 2017 as a prequel to Linda’s second full-length novel, best-selling The Mending of Lillian Cathleen (Book 2 in the series), which is set in 1914 and released in October 2018. Book 3 in the series, The Awakening of Miss Adelaide, released in July 2019.

Social Media Links:

Facebook:   Linda Brooks Davis, Author

Twitter:   @LBrooksDavis

Pinterest:    ljbd1946

Instagram:  lindadavis1321

Contact Links:


Amazon Author Page:



Purchase Links:

The Calling of Ella McFarland:

A Rock Creek Christmas Collection:

The Mending of Lillian Cathleen

The Awakening of Miss Adelaide